Chinese Puzzle Box

Explorations in and about China

Fox Spirit 84 – More 9-11 Fallout

©Porter Gifford http://www.portergifford.com

The apartment was quiet. The sound of traffic was barely audible beyond the walls of the Beihai compound. Richie snored softly from behind his screen. Sara moved to hang up her discarded jacket and scarf, straightened a pillow of the couch, and the flashing light of her phone’s answering machine caught her eye. She picked up the receiver, hit playback, and jumped as Mark’s voice filled the apartment.

            “Mom, where are you?  I’ve been trying to connect with you for 24 hours! Nothing by phone, nothing by email…For God’s sake, call me back so I know you’re ok!”

            Richie half-woke at the sudden noise and began to whimper. Sara stroked his back and crooned a few words of a lullaby until he had subsided. She went to her computer and sent a quick email:  Sorry I was out of touch – not near my phone at office and then not at home. All well here despite uproar over Twin Towers. Love MOM

            Within minutes her phone rang. “Mom, it’s Mark. What’s been happening with you?  Are you sure you and Richie are all right? I’ve been imagining all sorts of things.”

            “Of course we’re all right.”  The surprise in her voice was no pretense. “What could be happening to us here in China?  Beijing is probably the safest place in the world – the government doesn’t allow terrorists.”

            “I thought there were no terrorists in the US either,” her son answered. “We’re hearing that Muslims in Iraq danced in the streets at the news of the attack in New York, and that the Chinese chat lines were gleeful about it until the government squelched the discussions. How was I to know you weren’t trapped in your apartment like you told me happened after Kosovo?  I was really worried about you and Richie, Mom. You should have called, let me know you were both safe.”

            “I’m sorry, Mark-o,” “The pet name from Mark’s childhood came as a natural reaction to the hurt in Mark’s voice. “Mothers worry about kids, but I guess it goes both ways.”

            “You bet it does. And it’s damn-it-all uncomfortable when I’ve got to worry about my mother AND my kid. So now are you coming home?”

            “’Home’?” Sara’s voice faltered. “Mark-o, my home has been here for the past four years. I can’t just up and leave at the first upset.”

            “It’s not the first upset, Mom, it’s the latest upset. If it were just you, maybe I’d shut up, but it’s you and Richie. Every time there’s a dustup between the US and China I’ll be worrying. And you hinted yourself last week that things weren’t going so well. It made me think a lot about what I’ve done and not done. I want you to bring Richie home, and I really want you to come and stay.”

            The line was silent. Sara realized that Mark had been practicing this speech in his mind, that he was waiting for her answer. But with so much un-decided – her desire for Storm, and her hope to find another job in Beijing both still strong – she flailed for a way to fend off a clear response.

            “Mark-o, dear,  I can’t leave right now, so abruptly. I’m… I’m working on some projects, they need me…” From childish habit she unconsciously crossed her fingers behind her back at the lie.

            Mark sighed. “Ok, Mom. But I need you, too.  And I want Richie.  When you change your mind, all you have to do is make one phone call. I’ll be there at the airport to meet you. And don’t make it too long.”


            Work at Rainbow Software the next day seemed meaningless. Scarlet Li and the programmers at Rainbow Software put on grave faces when they saw her. Perhaps they were sympathizing about the attacks, but Sara wondered if it was because they had heard of her dismissal. Jerry Wang was not in the office. Trueheart Zhang was solicitous; she wondered if he was hiding glee behind his mask of concern. No one commented when she left early to keep her appointment with Doctor Bai, Head of Faculty at the Children’s Palace.

.           Doctor Bai waved Sara to a seat in his small office, crowded with overflowing bookshelves and papers piled on the floor. His smile was cordial, but his first words were formal. “Mrs. Miller, thank you for coming to see me. I have received word from Mr. Wang that you will be leaving at the end of the month. We are very sorry to hear this.”

            Sara responded quickly. “Leaving Rainbow Software, yes. But I was hoping to be able to expand my hours working here. Teacher Wang will recommend me..”

            “Please excuse me, Mrs. Miller, for interrupting. But you must realize that your position with us has been entirely unofficial, generously funded by Mr. Wang of Rainbow Software as a donation to the community. Of course, it was a great benefit to the school that Rainbow Software gave us your time for these months. Our students have learned much, our parents have enjoyed your presentations. All has been good, but you understand, outside of official budget and education plan.”

            Sara was struck silent for a moment. Of course her position had been made possible by Rainbow Software – why had she not seen this before?  The company had simply transferred the money they would have paid her for her idle time to the account of the Children’s Palace, and got credit for generosity to boot. She tried again. “Perhaps it could be made official in some way?”

            Dr. Bai’s smile was gone now. “It would not be possible for us to officially hire a foreigner to teach the youngest children. Such an impressionable age.”

                        Wash she imagining his implication of an alternative? “What about an enrichment class for the older children, at the high school?  Perhaps you could recommend me?”

            The Head pursed his lips. “I’m afraid that would be difficult.”  Sara recognized that in Chinese usage this was the equivalent of “No”, but she pushed on.

            “What is the difficulty?  I have heard that in private schools there is a demand for native English speakers.”

            Dr. Bai leaned back in his chair and looked out the window, tapping his pencil against the desk. When he turned back to Sara his manner had changed. “It is true. Private schools have different requirements. Perhaps… I have several colleagues who are involved with such schools. You might be helpful to them – and they have no connection to Mr. Wang. If you wish I will inquire on your behalf.”

            Sara smiled with relief. “Yes, please. As soon as possible, if you would. I am sorry to trouble you with this, but I must leave my apartment when I leave Rainbow Software so…” She trailed off.

            “I understand, It is hard when so many things are connected together. I will do my best for you, Mrs. Miller. I hope you can manage to stay in Beijing.”

            Sara gave him her phone number and bowed her good-bye. He had not said “There would be a difficulty.” He had not said “It would be against our policy.”  She had hope.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment