Chinese Puzzle Box

Explorations in and about China

“New Year for China” Feedback and Blowback

When my previous post “New Year for China” was published in the LATC, I hoped to get a letter or two of appreciation for my positive write-up of the the local celebration of the Chinese Lunar New Year and for my regrets about the deterioration of relations between China and the US over the past 20 years.

Here are the letters that came in.

And here was my published response :

Was my original writing really that muddled? Perhaps some readers had earlier bad experiences of Sinophobia, which made them sensitive to possible slights, implications, and innuendoes.

My granddaughter, as a toddler, was knocked over by an unleashed dog, and has been afraid of dogs ever since. Not unreasonable. But, I hope, overcomeable. No one should have to live on the alert for danger.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““New Year for China” Feedback and Blowback

  1. sacsubcoho on said:

    Hi Allyson,

    I was not upset by what you wrote. I’m sorry for the blowback you received. Yuck!

    Hugs,

    Marty

Leave a comment